Meet The Author: Kris Holt

Today we are welcoming an author from England’s city of literature, Norwich named Kris Holt. Here at RockPaperSpirit we have been a fan of Kris for a while so we are delighted to be able to share his book, What Comes From The Earth.

kris holt author

Kris is already an accomplished and award winning author. In October 2014 his short story, Crowning Glory, was the winner of the International Writing Award at the SMHAFF festival. In 2016, he was shortlisted for the Escalator Fiction Prize. Last year he also released the book we are featuring today, What Comes From The Earth, a thriller set in contemporary South Africa.
He has big plans for this year. He is preparing a sci-fi novella called This Burning Man set in post-nuclear Arizona.
kris holt author norwich
If you’re interested in reading more about Kris, you can view his blog here.
Blurb for What Comes From The Earth:
Everybody has a problem with Sithembile ‘Sithi’ Nzeogwu. The mining companies are strongly anti-union, the miners are threatening a breakaway and in modern day South Africa, every politician has an angle. If life wasn’t hard enough as a union fieldworker in the platinum townships, his every move upsets his older brother – captain of the local police and his chief tormentor throughout childhood.

kris holt author norwich

Sithi is learning quickly that you can’t keep all of the people happy all of the time, and when a corrupt government agitator arrives in town with weapons in crates and mercenaries in tow, the antes rise still further. Sithi will learn about loyalty to his members, his family and the country that he loves – but he’ll need to grow and be strong if he’s going to survive the lesson.

‘What Comes From The Earth’ is a taut political thriller that will appeal to fans of ‘The Last King of Scotland’ and ‘The Constant Gardener’.

You can buy What Comes From The Earth here:

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Comment on this

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s